When Do You Seek Help

I am a nurse, interested in understanding why women may delay seeking help when experiencing chest pain or other symptoms related to heart disease? If you have experienced chest pain (cardiac or not) or survived a heart attack, why did you not call 911 immediately?

77 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Deb,

I can tell you that for me--age 40, training for a triathlon, with no traditional risk factors or family history of early onset heart
problems--it was basically denial. "This can't possibly be a heart attack, I'm dieting, I'm exercising, I biked 2 miles yesterday and swam the day before that, I'm only 40 years old..."

The classic heart attack symptoms I had woke me up about an hour before the alarm usually went off. I had chest pain that radiated down my left arm and up into my neck and jaw, I had cold sweats, I had nausea. A very tiny portion of my brain was ticking these off and saying, "This is a heart attack," but the rest of me was VERY much in the "that's not possible" camp. I woke my husband up, and instead of calling 911, we did the thing you're not supposed to do; we drove ourselves to the ER.

I think neither my husband nor me wanted to believe it was my heart. Heart disease was nowhere on my radar; if I thought about it at all, I kind of vaguely figured it was something to be concerned with maybe in a couple of decades. Because, you know, heart disease really only happens to old men, right? <--- Please read that as sarcastic; I know better.

Carolyn, of the Heart Sisters blog, has a great post on treatment-seeking delay behavior:
http://myheartsisters.org/tag/treatment-seeking-delay-behaviour/

And I'm sure you're familiar with the Yale Heart Study, which asks about treatment-seeking behaviors:
https://heartstudy.yale.edu/hacs/

best wishes,
Laura