RSD and EDS

I am a 15 year old girl who was diagnosed with EDS hypermobility type a year ago. I have had two surgeries on my right foot and after them I have developed RSD. I have only had it for a month but I am REALLY scared that it is going to spread to other parts of my body. I have a doctor appointment today and he is going to do a nerve block in my back to numb my foot. I am really new to all of this so I don't really know how successful it is and how long it works for. He also wants me to do an intense physical therapy program. But, I have read that people with EDS and RSD should not do physical therapy programs because it makes their conditions worse. I was just wondering if there is anyone with EDS and RSD that has done a physical therapy program and what are your outcomes from it? Also if there is anyone who has a good doctor or hospital that they have been to for this please let me know! It doesn't matter where it is because my family is willing to go wherever to get relief from this. If anyone has anything that could help PLEASE let me know, I am desperate for any help at all!

4 replies. Join the discussion

Hey there,

My daughter had toe surgery & developed RSD. If I'm not mistaken, she massaged it quite a bit, soaked it w/ epsom salt, & made sure to move it, etc.. She didn't do physical therapy, but thankfully it's pretty much resolved except for some sensitivity. You had foot surgery though, so it was a bigger surgery & may require therapy.

If I were you & your family, I would go to doctors who specialize in Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. Dr. Clair Francomano comes highly recommended & is in Baltimore, MD. You could call her office & either plan to see her or they could possibly recommend someone for you.

Wishing you the best ~