Save 15% on Ostomysecrets with promo code SPRING

leaks

I'm having problems with leaks between my pouch and my my wafer what can I do about this?

8 replies. Join the discussion

Hi, I'm new at all of this, and seemed to be learning things as I go along. Some of the leaks I was having I think had to do with the opening to the bag was a bit larger then my stoma.( Forcing waste to get under the wafer and break the seal.) I also think sometimes replacing a bag after showering might not be a good idea. Here's hoping others have some suggestions or tips to prevent mishaps from happening.

I use paste around the opening in the wafer that helps with leaks.

Kodaking,

I'm a bit confused as to where the leak is: Is it between the wafer and your skin, or are you using a two piece system and the leak is at the point where the bag connects to the wafer?

Bruce

Hello Bruce I have a two piece system. And it seems like it leaks between the two seals.

Hmmmm, I'm not sure what is going on. Are you using a two piece system that snaps together like tupperware - make sure that you listen for the clicking sound as you pinch the two pieces together. Some suggestions:

You may need a system with a floating flange that allows you to get your fingers under the flange (platic ring on the barrier) to ensure the pieces are coming together. Hollister makes a floating flange and Convatec makes an adapter to create a floating flange. If this continues to be a problem you could try a two peice adhesive coupling system. It is still a two piece system but instead of the two pieces snapping together - adhesive keeps the peices together. You could ask convatec or coloplast for a sample. Their advice nurses could help you out.