Using a Prosthesis with Osteoporosis

I am a disabled Marine Corps Veteran, Above Knee Amputee with Gentamicin Toxicity induced hearing loss and vestibular damage. I am currently on 5mg Prednisone/Day for Polymialgia Rheumatica and have recently been diagnosed with Osteoporosis. Dexa scan was -4.9 in left hip, -3.6 in right hip, and -2.1 in spine. I am trying, for the 4th time, to get up and going with a prosthesis. Prior to my AKA I was a Below Knee Amputee and did everything. The balance issues caused by the vestibular damage are the "monkey wrenches" to my success with walking. My physical therapist says the best I can hope for is to walk with the assistance of a walker. With the new issue of Osteoporosis I'm wondering what is "realistic" in the area of goal setting. I've been in a wheel chair for 15 years and continue to push for a more ambulatory lifestyle. Also, I do quite a bit of hopping on my right leg when I don't have my prosthesis on. I'm wondering if this is why my right hip shows less osteoporosis?

Edited July 3, 2011 at 12:26 pm

11 replies. Join the discussion

Thank you for your service, USMCVet. And congratulations on surviving breast cancer! I can see you are a fighter.

I have no idea what goals are realistic for you, not being a PT or doctor. Maybe the answer is to just keep trying--because after all, walking in a walker is terrific compared to being in a wheelchair. Maybe your PT is wrong, and maybe she/he is right. I do know that the longer you stay off your feet, the more you lose bone in your hips. The shape of the femur will actually change.