The Inspire Q&A: Inspire talks with Bonnie Diraimondo

Dear Inspire Community Members,

We at Inspire are pleased to bring you the latest in a series of Q&A interviews with people we feel are making contributions to helping patients worldwide. We are posting these interviews in a Q&A format in my Journal as a news feature for Inspire community members.

I recently interviewed cancer survivor Bonnie Diraimondo, a patient advocate, author, and speaker on the topic of HPV (Human Papillomavirus) and cervical cancer. She is the author of the book, Any Mother’s Daughter, which details her struggle with HPV. Organizers of the International Papillomavirus Conference have invited Diraimondo to speak at the opening ceremonies. The conference will take place this fall in Berlin, Germany.

Diraimondo is a member of the online support community of the National Cervical Cancer Coalition (NCCC).

Inspire: When were you first diagnosed with HPV?

Diraimondo: I've been a registered nurse since 1983 and I spent the majority of my life living in New Jersey until relocating to Florida in 2002. I was initially diagnosed with HPV in 1987, which, at that time, involved vulvar dysplasia. It has since gone on to involve the cervix, vagina, and anus with two invasive anal cancers both of which I have survived--so far.

Inspire: What made you want to write and speak on this topic?

Diraimondo: I wrote my book because after two decades I found that there was still too little accurate information available regarding HPV. It is quite an honor to have your work endorsed by and foreword written by the Nobel Prize winner who won for actually discovering that HPV caused cervical cancer. I started my website and blog two years ago to provide medically accurate info and the site is registered by HonCode, an organization which certifies online medical info accuracy.

Inspire: Tell us more about the conference this fall in Berlin.