please help! anyone else with this issue

I'm fairly new to the asthma site but I desperately need some input please. When any of you asthmatics gets bronchitis, do do you have difficulty raising the secretions from deep down in your lungs or am I the only one. I can't get bronchitis like a normal person, where they will cough a few days but then things loosen up. I'll take the antibiotics, steroids, nebulizer treatments and Mucinex and still have to work and work to get the stuff up, by coughing and chest PT. I can hear the flutter of secretions when I exhale as I lay down. Now I had the reflux surgery for GERD in August and that has improved but I still can't handle much Prednisone or my stomache will bother me. Now I went to sleep feeling fairly good at 10pm but then woke right out of a sleep at 12 midnight feeling short of breath. Did nebulizer which helped some, now some secretions came up but still feel tight. So frustrating as I have to get up for work at 5am. Took 20mg. of Prednisone with some toast so it won't bother my stomach. This is the pits. I know I need a higher dose of steroids but I am sick of needing them every 3-4 months. Never had issues with asthma till I was in my late 40's. Any advice.

135 replies. Join the discussion

My son came home with a cold he was able to get over in two days..I get something like this and I am down for a week..Have been having the same problem this week with coughing and shortness of breath, etc. with this new chest cold. Have started on the prednisone and a bunch of other medications, too, but like you not really sure how to deal with my lungs..Hate having to take so much medication because it upsets my stomach also, but it seems to help a little with the congestion. Got a cold last year and ended up on Z-pak for bronchitis and it seemed it took so long to get better. I also got asthma in my late 40's and am new to this..Was always able to blow off a small cold and go to work..Not anymore..