Leg Pain with and after Statin Rx; does it go away?

About me:

I'm a white male in my 40's. I used to be an amateur athlete (soccer, rugby, jogging/running) in my free time. Now I struggle to do things I took for granted in my 20's and 30's, and yes even 2 months ago!

My cholesterol is high (like Mom's); always has been. Folks used to not believe I fasted, when I did. Just water before labs. Mom's a tiny little Swedish lady by heritage who minds what she eats for her heart, but still has high cholesterol. I mind my diet less and it's caught up w/ me (weight and cholesterol).

I've cut out sodas, and red meat and trying to also cut back on carbs since breads/sugars end up in my Triglycerides and want them much lower and my weight lower too. Portion size is a challenge too. My self discipline is improving as I avoid kryptonite - err I mean pizza, fast food, fried food, steak...

In recent years my primary care physician felt I hadn't done enough w/ diet and exercise so they strongly recommended I start taking a statin... but something feels very wrong!

My statin experience:

1st statin Rx >> minor leg pain, upset stomach and short term memory loss. Stopped taking it in 1st 30 days.

2nd statin Rx >> major upset stomach pain and sudden onset of short term memory loss. Stopped taking it in 1st 30 days.

3rd statin Rx >> re-started at 1/6 of Rx after initial upset stomach to avoid side effects and then worked up to 1/3 Rx dose in 45 days when significant muscle pain experienced in both legs and in arms when only holding a magazine to read. Stopped taking it approx 24 days ago. Still experiencing a lot of leg pain in muscles and it gets worse when I try to jog like I did easily up to this point.

Questions:

1. Did you experience leg muscle pain when you took statins?

2. If so, did your leg pain continue in the 1-2 months after you stopped taking the statin Rx?