Help out a student!

Hello all,

I'm a student from Ithaca, NY, and I'm writing a piece for class, advocating for online support groups. I was wondering if any of you have words to share about your experience in an online community. I'm open to all feedback.

Thank you!
Jamie

My e-mail address is barrette416@yahoo.com

Edited November 26, 2009 at 7:57 pm

7 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Jamie,

This particular WomenHeart community offers the most diverse topics that women challenged with all sorts of heart disease and damage issued freely discuss. Heart damage can be such a gargantuan, multi-headed hydra collection of debilitating symptoms that it literally takes years to grasp what is wrong and where to start first with the research. Because there are so many bright, educated women here, this list has offered the invaluable advantage of a really steep learning curve.....and so much helpful information from real women that is genuine....and so many coping suggestions, practical ways to manage life with permanent heart damage that doctors just don't have the time to explain. Currently, remains the only site where one can post an urgent request for help and receive almost instant replies from women committed to help one another.

I easily give this WH site a 10 on a 1-10 ease of use, credible (friendly) discussions that have helped put many confused women on the right track to advocate for more aggresssive medical care for themselves.

Good luck with your writing.

I agree with Martzi about this site. There are other well-informed posts to other sites out there. I learned alot about fibromyalgia in 2001 before I was diagnosed and some of those people on a fibro site helped me through some long painful nights. There are also other heart sites that helped me back in 2001 when I first had a heart attack and thought I could never eat anything but lettuce again. The thought of my eating real food again made me sick.