flying with leaky heart valve

the doctor said my valves are linking and i have to have surgery..now i found this out today..I have to fly to maine on sunday..my mom said it wasn't safe..do any of you ladies know if it's safe..I can't get in touch with the doctor..please help

Edited November 1, 2012 at 10:27 pm

13 replies. Join the discussion

That is something that you should definetly ask your doctor about Yolanda. I am a nurse and would not advise you one way or the other. I only can advise you to ask your doctor. Shamrock

I thank you..so I can't fly..that's what i'm hearing..but i will ask my doctor if i can get in touch with her..thanks

Do you mean leaky heart valve? I'm sure everyone would agree with Shamrock that your doctor is the best to ask about your particular situation. I wouldn't assume that you can't.

yes that's what i mean..i will ask my doctor..anyway there is something i want to ask..can i have sex..see the doctor who told me this ..didn't explan anything..so i'm in the dark

I was told that if I could easily walk up 2 flights of stairs, then I could have sex. Just what I was told. Don't take as written in stone for everyone.

If you can chase after 3 grandchildren, you can have sex. (Just kidding. Ask your doctor or see if he or she has a nurse you can talk to)

thanks..yes i'm always chasing my grandkids..madison who is four...well i was scared and i think he was too. you know he is always crying it makes me wanna cry too. see this hasn't hit me yet..i need to be strong for the grandkids..maybe when the doctor tell me the date that we go in the OR..did you feel that way

Hi Yolanda,