blood thinners

I had 2 stents put in in 2005, I never took any blood thinners, I had another stent put in april 3 the doctors would not believe i was never on blood thinners because my two previous drug eluded stents looked perfect. I have found another person who also does not take any blood thinners and she has 3 drug eluded stents 7 years ago and hers are fine as well. I did alot of research and I think this plavix thing is being pushed by drug companies into drs heads. there are serious side effects coming off plavix as well, so has anyone else has success without these drugs.

15 replies. Join the discussion

As a critical care nurse, I've seen some tragic cases of people having strokes or occluded stents after stopping antiplatelet therapy against medical advice. I've also talked to some people here who were unable to stay on antiplatelet therapy due to complications who did ok. The evidence is good that antiplatelet therapy helps more people than it hurts. I really don't think it's a drug company conspiracy. But everyone has to make their own decisions about their health. Just make sure you are aware of the possible consequences.

my stents were put in in 2005 and i just had angio they a all clear. another woman had 3 put in 03 and took nothing but aspirn and hers are all clear these are drug eluted stents

my thought is maybe if you never start on blood thinners your just as safe but once you take them your body requires them, i do not know but i am once again opting not to take them and just go with asprin