What were your copper levels?

I most likely do not have wilson's disease. But what I need to know is how high is high, and how low is low?

I have "high" serum (blood) copper and "low" urine copper.

This pattern does not fit in the pigeon hole of copper toxicity or wilson's disease from what I have read.

Lots of problems. Not really asking for a diagnosis or similar life stories. I've been researching for 8 months and I am really, really annoyed at the world at large.

My question is this :

When you were diagnosed, and at other times in your life, what were your levels of copper / ceuroloplasmin / zinc?

Also does Wilson's Disease create a prolonged high CRP / ESR (5 years, I can't go back further in medical history as I have none) ?

Thankyou in advance, sorry for appearing curt,

-Amanda

39 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Amanda,
Many sources say a serum copper below 80 ug/dl is indicative of WD.
Gitlin says typical findings are those below 100 ug/dl , however.
Gitlin also says that urinary copper of greater than 100 ug in the course of 24 hours (/24hrs) are typical findings.
(http://www.gastrojournal.org/article/S0016-5085(03)01512-9/preview)
Of course, more normal findings don't necessarily exclude the disease, as it is a disease that develops gradually from near normal state at birth, and at varying rates (therefore age is not completely relevant).
So, what does "low" mean in this case?
What does "high" mean?
If your serum is above the normal range, or very high in the normal range, typically, you would be assumed not to have the disease, as is the case, if your urine copper were extremely low (however, if you are practicing a low copper diet, etc. this could be thrown off from my understanding).