Ultrasensitive TSH vs TSH

I'm new to this so maybe someone can enlighten me as to the difference between TSH and Ultrasensitive TSH. What's the desired goal level of either? I was told for non-cancer patients it's a TSH between 0.4 and 4.0 (I'm not sure what that translates for Ultrasensitive TSH), but with cancer patients the TSH should be between 0.3 and 3.0. Further confusing is that my doc said I'm "high risk" and need to be at 0.1 or less. Does an increase in thyroid medication result in the TSH numbers decreasing? If so, I'm in a fix as I feel horrible on this medication and would like to take as little of it as possible - regardless what it does to my numbers! Any enlightenment would be appreciated.

8 replies. Join the discussion

the medication is a hormone your body produced on its own when you had a thyroid. yes, an increase in med will decrease the TSH. More T4 equals less TSH and vice versa, that is how the two work together in the body.

here's info on the 3rd generation TSH test:

http://labtestsonline.org/understanding/analytes/tsh/tab/faq

3. What is a 3rd generation TSH and an ultrasensitive TSH?

Both of these terms relate to the evolution of the TSH test. Over time, increasingly sensitive and specific TSH tests have been developed and adopted. Most laboratories now use the 3rd generation/ultrasensitive TSH test as their "TSH test." This newest version is about 100 times more sensitive than the first-generation TSH test.

and this:

http://www.bouldermedicalcenter.com/articles/Thyroid_Function_Tests.htm

Serum TSH Assays

First generation TSH assays have detection limits of about 5 to 10 mU/L. Since the normal range for TSH is about 0.5 to 5.0 mU/L, these assays often miss mild hypothyroidism (where the TSH is usually just above 5) and are totally inadequate for assessment of hyperthyroidism (where the TSH is usually below 0.5). As a result, most laboratories have stopped using the first generation TSH assay.