Synthroid vs. Eltroxin

Does anyone know the difference between Synthroid and Eltroxin? I was on Synthroid and when I renewed the pharmacy gave me Eltroxin. I have noticed I am very tired, arms and legs are tired and sore, headache. Not sure if this is the drug change, but has anyone else had side effects to a change?

10 replies. Join the discussion

Hello hope you're well. Having a close friend who is a pharmacist. She advised me that there is no major difference between the two drugs Eltroxin and Synthroid both contain the same active ingredient levothyroxine. The non active ingredients may vary, however it doesn't change the effects of the medication. However, she also told me that one should remain on the same manufacturer of levothyroxine whether its Synthroid or Eltroxin. I've always been on synthroid. Try to have it changed back to synthroid and see if your symptoms dissipate. Hope this helps. Have a good day.

Hi! I'm still a newbie, but my Endo advised me to always stick to brand name medication and never accept a generic or alternate type. She said that there has been some inconsistency with the dosing of generic medications (you may not be always getting the dose labled)?

For other medications (ie. birth control pills) I have noticed a huge difference between brand name and generic options and so always insist on brand name only (even if the active ingredients are the same, the inactive ingredients can affect how your body processes/responds to the medication).

Hope you get the problem sorted out fast!

IBelieve2010, you should always take the same manufacturer (brand) pill. Does your doc know your rx has been changed from synthroid to eltroxin? Also, I've never heard of eltroxin (not that that means anything). Is it bioequivalent to synthroid?

I would contact you doc asap, to find out.

"She said that there has been some inconsistency with the dosing of generic medications"