Surgery scheduled - what should I expect

Hi All,

I am scheduled for a TT on 3/1/13 at Georgetown Hospital and would love to know what to expect and any advice on pre and post-op. This is my first time posting and have learned so much from the postings on this site.

15 replies. Join the discussion

Each persons recovery will be slightly different. I felt fine after. I think my only issue was that I had this silly worry about my head falling off backwards... lol. I had a little bit of a calcium deficiency afterwards- which lead to some tingling hands and feet. They gave me calcium supplements and it eventually resolved after a few days.
The biggest problem was the sore throat from intubation. You will be ok. I am sure you are just ready to get it over with.

I had the same sore throat that Brenna mentioned. I just used some throat losengers for a few days maybe a week. I also experienced very minor pain when I tilt my head forward or looked sideways but my Thyroid was enlarged and took some extra time and neck twisting. This pain was gone with a regular Motrin or Tylenol. I have anxiety issues and couldnt sleep the first night right after surgery so the gave me ambien at night. but i was up walking around the hospital same day of surgery and eating regular food. i kind of freaked myself out the next day cause I don't like being in a hospital and ended up taking an Ativan but most people don't have this fear or so I don't think. But honestly I was fine. I walked out to the car on my iwn from the hospital. I started Synthroid and calcium the very next day and took off work just a few days. I felt a bit sleepy even a week later but I am very sensitive to anesthesia so this was not related to the surgery itself. My tip if you get nausea from anesthesia is to make sure the anesthesiologist gives you some phenergan.