I'm a soldier and an athlete ... can I keep this up??

I'm in the Army and if I don't keep my standard of fitness, I can lose my job. I had a TT June 2011, followed by the standard 131 and 125 RAI, and I'm still not in remmission. I'm not sure how to keep this up. I'm on 200mcg Synthroid and a very careful diet. I can't lose 15lbs I gained during the last year and I'm really burning out. I started taking caffeine, energy supplements and try to workout about 2 hours a day. Is this safe?

Edited May 27, 2012 at 1:38 am

8 replies. Join the discussion

Hi GnJmommy,
First of all I want to say thank you for serving our country and fighting for our freedoms. You are very much appreciated! As for your question, I think it depends on how hyperthyroid you are. Do you know what your TSH is? Being hyperthyroid can give you heart palpitations and an irregular heart beat, so adding caffeine on top of that might really send it into overdrive, which might be dangerous. As far as energy supplements, what is in them? And I don't know how you have the energy to exercise 2 hrs/day, but I don't think it would be dangerous alone, but combined with the caffeine and being hyperthyroid, it might. How have you been feeling? Any racing heart? 200mcg Synthroid is a pretty hefty dose. It sure wouldn't hurt to talk to your doctor about all this to get his input. Anyway, thanks once again for serving, and prayers that you will be able to figure this thing out and reverse the burnout. And BTW, many many of us have gained weight and are finding it very hard to get off, so you are not alone. Hang in there!
<hugs>
Kim

It may take time but yes I believe you can maintain or even increase your standard of fitness. The weekly PT might suck the life out of you, but I would not be surprised if you can get excused from time to time if you need it. If they haven't changed since I was in the only thing that really mattered was the PFT.