Ear ache

Hello, i had my thyroid, parathyroid and lymph nodes removed 3 weeks ago. I have started getting an ear ache. I have never had an ear ache before. Has anyone else had this problem after surgery?

17 replies. Join the discussion

I didn't experience this - how are you now?

My ear ache just comes and goes. Not really sure whats going on

I've had lots of ear issues since my TT. But if you are also running a fever you need to see the doctor. Otherwise, it might just be general swelling from having had the surgery.
Hang in there.
dj

Hi i have had a neck dissection in Jun 2010 and still keep getting ear ache on and off, the surgeon told me it is the nerve end coming back together, it can take 12 month or more for them to be fully re attached. My neck, face and ear are all still numb on the outside. XX Karen

Thanks,my face and neck are also numb still, but it has only been 4 weeks. I have never had an ear ache ever, so it kinda worried me. Thanks again

I am new to Tyca...I have surgery scheduled for this Thursday for medullary thyroid cancer. No one has told me that I would have a numb face and neck from the surgery...is this a normal side effect?

Goodluck on your surgery. I had my surgery Feb 25, my neck,ear and lower face is still numb. I had thyroid, parathyroid and lymph nodes taken out. I don't remember hearing about any numbness if it is just your thyroid. I hope everything works out well for you, i will be praying for you. If i can help in any way, please let me know! Keep your smile on and your face towards the sky and all will be well!

with medullary the thyroid and surrounding lymph nodes must be removed. any more that would be removed would only be if it had metasised...i hope not. i've heard that losing a parathyroid, or even having it "nicked" could be a challenge. do you have to take a lot of calcium tablets? why would your face be numb? i've heard that my voice "could be" hoase for a while--was yours?