Anyone non-avid for RAI?

For those of you non-avid for RAI, can you tell me what your treatment has been since losing avidity for RAI?
How long have you been non-avid?
What treatments have you had?
Is there anything you wished you would have done/not have done when you found out non-avid?
Have doctors gven you any indication in prognosis since becoming non-avid?

Thanks for any replies/information. I am nonavid - first RAI did not work, and I am feeling anxious about it. My stimulated Tg is relatively low, but when I start thinking about the future and not living in the present I start feeling depressed and highly anxious. I know things could be much worse for me, so I want to appreciate where I am now, but I get scared thinking about the future. I am still learning how to manage my fears/anxieties and working on my mental state. Blah - I am a mess!

15 replies. Join the discussion

Hi RayeRaye, i have been non avid since 2006, Had TT and RAi in 2006. There was uptake on the initial ablation scan. The 6 month uptake scan was clear, i was told the intial ablation dose had killed off any remnants. For 4 yrs i was having 3-6 monthly checks with bloods,because the TG was always undetectable i was not given any other scans etc over the 4 yr period.
In Nov 2009 i found a lump in my neck, went to see the oncologist who said he wasn't too worried my TG was still undetectable, so he arranged an ultrasound scan for the end of January 2010, the results were the Papca was back (or never gone). I was sent for MRI and CT, the results of the CT were not great, i have multi nodules in both lungs.In May 2010 I had a radical right neck dissection, followed in the September by external beam Radiotherapy.
I still have multi nodules in both lungs which thankfully are stable.
Since the EBR my neck is also clear so far, i was told that the prognosis is no worse than anyone without lung nodules. They also told me the lung mets could have been there for years.