Swimming and Psoriasis..?

** Originally posted by mirandaskye **

I have psoriasis but I want to join the swim team at my school. Will the chlorine make my psoriasis worse??

17 replies. Join the discussion

** Originally posted by MrsCuster **

Depends on the person and how well the pools chemicals are kept up. I can swim in a pool fine and no problem, others are reporting problems. I also worked as a pool chemical tech for a while and can tell you if the school doesnt keep all the chemicals balanced it will mess with your skin even if you dont have P

** Originally posted by spottedcat83 **

And another question... if there is a virus or something in the pool water, can it get into psoriasis spots with cracks and infect the skin? Just to add to the general worry...

I would think that anything like chlorine could potentially make it worse. Possibly you could put something like a thin coat of vasoline over your spots to keep the pool water off them.

How extensive is your psoriasis?

** Originally posted by DottieD **

I believe it's been recommended that we shower after being in a pool to help remove chlorine, then use a good moisturizing lotion.

Ok thanks a bunch for responding. My psoriasis isn't extremely terrible... mainly quarter sized patches on my back and chest. I started getting it over the summer, and we have a pool. It didn't seem to irritate it then, so I'm hoping that the school pool won't be any different. I'll just make sure I moisturize frequently!

** Originally posted by missiongirl69 **

I swim & it does irritate my p. My derm says to wash without soap after the pool. He says we should only use soap on our stinky parts (LOL). If the pools ph is out it does a number on my skin.if not, not so bad, my home pool is the worst. Vaseline works a barrier just on the spots. Use a mixture of body lotion & mineral oil before going all over the bod it helps me & after.

** Originally posted by spottedcat83 **