Psoriasis in the groin folds

** Originally posted by dudemcface **

I just registered today but I have had this condition for some time. I have been diagnosed with sebhorrheic dermatitis on my scalp and face and ears and I beleive i have psoriasis in the groin skin folds. I have been told that it was a yeast infection but it never seems to go away totally even with anti-fungal medication. Its been like this on and off for 3 years. However, it does seem to get better with a steroid cream. Should I try the elidel i have for my face?

It gets kinda red an itchy and the skin starts to peel a little. Does that sound like psoriasis? maybe inverted? Thanks everybody!

10 replies. Join the discussion

** Originally posted by MikeK **

Hi dudemcface,

Welecome to the Board. Nice to meet you. :cool: Sorry to hear that you suspect that you have psoriasis in your groin folds. I'm not a doctor but sounds like inverse psoriasis to me. A biopsy or scraping is the only way to tell for sure. (A biopsy is definitive for psoriasis.) That being said, Elidel is safe to use in places like the groin. You might want to try using it there. If the problem persists please see your doctor.

Several people who post here have had great results using Desitin (which is a diaper rash cream) to treat their inverse psoriasis. Here's a link to a previous discussion about Desitin and inverse psoriasis: http://www.psoriasis.org/forum/showthread.php?t=11047&highlight=Desitin. And here's a link to some additional info about the the Desitin product that they were discussing: http://www.desitin.com/en/?dsp=21&psp=20.

Hope this helps. Good luck. Feel better and please keep us posted!

Mike

** Originally posted by RichJ **

hi dudemcface
sorry i can't help much but welcome to the p family. you have met some of the wonderful people on here and will find alot of great info. welcome and nice to meet you.

have a good night all

richard

** Originally posted by onside_dog **