Psoriasis and Hives

** Originally posted by zedanny **

Hi anyone know if Psoriasis and Hives ever been mistaken for each other?
I had hives several times seance I was a kid. I went to a derm about a year 1/2 ago and he said I have Psoriasis . I have treaded as P all the time with out any luck just seemed to spread more.
Well I took benadryl Allergy a few days ago and my arms are clearing up the itching has pretty well stopped.My arms were big red welts with very light scaling. now there clear.
I was looking at pictures of Hives on the net and thought that looks just like my Psoriasis .I know that Bendryil is what they give you for treating hives. Anyway thank you

8 replies. Join the discussion

** Originally posted by MikeK **

Hi Danny,

I'm not a doctor, but from what I understand hives is usually a temporary condition (it may come and go) that's usually brought on by something like allergic reaction: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/hives-and-angioedema/DS00313

My psoriasis never comes and goes. It's always there.