Do tanning salons help?

** Originally posted by livoniaguy **

I've heard that tanning salons may help psoriasis. Is there any truth to this, and how is it different from the light therapy offered in dermatology offices? I've never tried either but am looking for new ways to treat my psoriasis. I currently use only a cetaphil and desonide compound moisturizer but my psoriasis is still spreading. My doctor perscribed a Clobex spray but its like $80 so I've been holding off as long as possible, but the psoriasis is spreading and I need to look into other alternatives. I'm also considering changing my dermatologist because the one I've been visiting for the last 4-5 years hasn't been anything more than decent and is an hour and a half away from my college in East Lansing, MI. Do you think it would make much of a difference? Any reccomendations? Thank you very much in advance for everything and if you have any questions or comments I'd be more than happy to listen.

32 replies. Join the discussion

** Originally posted by kimberlyjoy **

The main difference between a tanning salon and the doctor prescribed light therapy would be how safe it is.. As youve probably heard, tanning salons are said to give you skin cancer, etc...

im not sure what other differences there are, but im hoping more people will come share their experiences with ou.

** Originally posted by Brattgirl **

I think it's the type of light rays. Tanning salons are UVA and the light in photothrerapy at the doctors office is UVB...which is the one that's proven to be affective in helping psoriasis patients.

** Originally posted by tennka01 **

My dermatologist flat out told me to go tanning. I have fair skin and the one time I've been tanning prior to this I went for 5 minutes and burnt so badly I peeled. What was he thinking???

** Originally posted by cheychey **