Sarcoidosis after surgery

Hello Everyone! I am new to sarcoidosis. I was just recently diagnosed with sarcoidosis for a couple of weeks now. I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of getting sarcoidosis after having surgery? I went in for a routine back surgery on April 5th, everything went well even went home that day. 2 days later I started have problems breathing and they thought I was having a pulmonary embolism. The CT scan showed sarcoid. I was perfectly fine prior to surgery. I ended up having a bronchoscopy and the biopsies were positive for sarcoidosis. I was just wondering if anyone else have heard of this?

6 replies. Join the discussion

Hi

Sorry to hear your news, no definite answer to your post but a couple of thoughts.

1. Sarcoidosis is found quite widely amongst medical professionals e.g. doctors, nurses etc. Probably due to exposure to the causative agent, which to (personal opinion) me infers an infectious agent, virus or bacteria. Possibly you may have been exposed to the causative agent while in hospital. Nasty unhealthy places full of sick people!!

2. Again personal opinion but I would think it is more likely that while you have been asymptomatic the disease was already present, the stress of the medical procedure could have very well induced a 'flare' of the sarcoid symptoms. You have to remember that medical professionals are not generally looking for sarcoid and many know very little about it! Reading on here you will find lots of stories of people who went undiagnosed for years despite a variety of symptoms.

In my case I ended up in hospital with kidney failure due to hypercalcemia,due Vit D, due to sarcoid. Without knowing it I had probably had the disease for years, I even (excuse the information) had a testicle removed due to a cancer scare and was not diagnosed as sarcoid, although subsequently at my insistence the histology slides were reviewed post sarcoid diagnosis and sure enough sarcoid was present.