Duration and signs of flare-up

I have pulmonary sarc, though never biopsied (only x-ray, CT scan, lung function tests - enough to know I guess). I - and my pulmonogist - believe the disease has been in remission for last few years.

I believe we are correct in this determination, but I seem to be tired ALL THE TIME these days, find myself always sweating far more than others around me, and seem to suffer daily with bouts of "brain fog".

Admittedly, this could come with middle age (I turn 45 this month) but I am finding it to be a condition not exactly conducive to productivity in my line of work (okay, I'm a lawyer...).

My question to those of you with active sarcoid: what are the first signs you are having a "flare-up" and how do you know, if you can know, that it has passed?

I can only think back at my bad times to determine the periods the disease was active. I pray mine stays in remission, but am curious whether I'll be able to recognize when and if the disease has decided to act up again.

Thank you all for sharing,

Terry

16 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Terry, I have never been in remission so not sure how to tell when you are getting a flare up. However, I am always tired and suffer the same brain fog you describe. I also have a very difficult time regulating my body temperature, I went as far as to get a prescription deodorant that seems to help only minimally. If cost wasn't a factor, i would get the botox injections in my underarms, I guess that helps a lot of people with excessive sweating.

Hopefully someone else will come along with more useful info!