LV treated with KI

Has anyone with LV tried Potassium Iodide to treat their disease.?
I'm new to this problem but the only paper I can find on the subject that claims to have had success, used KI.

34 replies. Join the discussion

Is the LV you are talking about Livedoid Vasculopathy? If so, I've never heard of that approach. Worth some research, though.

Yes, I am referring to Livedo Vasculopathy. I read a very short abstract on a case where Potassium Iodide was give to a sufferer in fairly large doses. They claimed full recovery in 4 weeks.
I haven't been able to obtain KI or I would have tried it.

How long have you had LV? There are a few of us that have connected on other LV discussion sites. If you check the other discussions you can see some of the medications and procedures that we have all tried. Some of us are trying Danazol and Coumadin presently. Hoping and waiting to see if it works.

Hi Dave I also have LV. If you type in Livedoid Vasculopathy into the find it I believe you will find other messages on LV and looking at the replies find several people with LV. Considering the rarity of the disease this is no mean feat to gather this much knowledge of the disease together. I have never heard of the use of potassium for LV. What does your Dr. think of it? Because of the resistance to treatment Researchers tend to cast around desperately for anything that might work . Some of the research trials have involved very small numbers of LV patients like only 2 studied for only 6 months and that hasn't been that helpful. How many people involved in the KL research and how long followed? Key to experimenting with a new Rx for LV is knowing if there are possible negative side effect to trying it. It is true that the trend among Drs. now is to treat with powerful anti-inflamatories like steroids Danazol and in my case prednisone and anti blood clotters Coumadin, pentoxifylline,dipyridamole,aspirin. you may friend request me on Inspire