How long does it take to recover from a partial finger amputation?

As I have posted in another entry I am scheduled to have both pinkie fingers "shortened" (the doc's words) on July 5th. I had a severe Raynaud's attack that resulted in gangrene on the tips of the fingers. My boss has been great so far but is asking if I know how long before I will be able to return to work after the surgery.

Can anyone share their experience with this and how long the recovery took? I understand that I will be in pain for a while but want to return to work as soon as I can, of course. I work as an executive assistant.

Thanks so much!!

15 replies. Join the discussion

Everyone is different, but, I had the middle joint on my index finger cut out, & for about 5 days I was glad for pain meds! After that first week, it calmed down enough to where I could function as well as usual (which isn't saying much...). I'm sure they will connect the skin flaps together (overlap?) since one reason we don't heal is shrinkage of the skin pulling wounds apart.

Good luck & I hope this helps a little,
Lenny

I'm looking at my notes to recall my procedures. My stitches were removed 13 days after surgery, and the final scabs were removed a couple of weeks later. It takes some getting used to the feeling at the ends of a finger. An occupational therapist said to touch something very soft initially, then a less soft surface, and graduate to other surfaces. Still today, I have a funny sensation in the tip of my finger. The nerves are there, but my brain doesn't connect with the location well.

I hope everything goes well for you. Best of luck.

I have had no experience with this. I just want to say, I am sorry for what you are going through.
Prayers and hugs your way.