Quitting smoking and Insomnia?

I'm curious if any of you that have quit remember severe insomnia? If so, how long did it last?

I'm pretty concerned as I have poor sleep and a tendency towards insomnia anyway. But since quitting cigarettes (2nd June 08) I have not slept a full night... it is affecting my performance at work, nicortette helps but I am still getting into the habit of self-medicating on other things (alcohol, Xanax, anti-nauseants, pain killers with codeine) to avoid the stress of laying in bed awake knowing I have to be up for work soon. Long term this would be even worse for my health than smoking!
When I do get to sleep naturally I'm often awake again within 3 hours. My performance at work is slipping from the lack of good sleep. Somebody tell me this goes away! @_@

5 replies. Join the discussion

*phew* good to know. Yes even 1 glass of alcohol also gave me heartburn/ digestive issues so I've quit that before bed. The other stuff still makes me feel groggy the next day and also like a loser and a secret drug addict or something, but nothing feels more dreadful that laying awake trying to will/relax yourself to sleep night after night, or falling asleep 1 hour before your alarm and having to drag yourself out of what you'd been waiting for all night.

I've never been any good at meditation or gotten the point of it, that same feeling is just one Xanax away with a lot less effort and irritation LOL! But I do not want to get to using a drug of some sort every day, especially to go to sleep. So thanks for letting me know it passes, I'll ride it out... and read a lot of novels! :-)

the patch has helped me with the insomnia. that....and LOTS of hot hot baths at bedtime!

congrats on the month long smoke out. keep up the good work!