Encouragement for parents of sick babies.

Hello Everyone,

As most of you know I am a pediatric nurse. I worked as a nursing assistant for a lot of years before I graduated as the "Nurse" in Aug 08. I LOVE my job on every level.

Most of your know I experienced the loss of my first son in June of 08 (Baby DJ). Many friends and family wanted to know how I would go back to work with these little sick babies after such a tradgedy in my own life. I tried to explain, I am the caregiver not the parent. I know my purpose (at least in this instance!) To me I can positively impact the lives of the babies and the parents I serve.

Yesterday, a parent came in and was overwhelmed with all that was going on with the baby; just the strain of her own lifes hurdles. So we talked and I shared my story with her. Her eyes were filled with tears as she let it all out and I felt so bad for her. I wished I could take her pain away. Later that day one of my other babies developed a fever. The family was in earlier so when they called to check on the baby I had to give the bad news. Again, I wished didn't have to. It is really hard to see the families go through such heartache and not be able to say, It's going to be okay."Sometimes we feel helpless also but we have to keep trying.

I guess there are nurse who feel like their job is business as usually but I find it very hard. These babies and families depend on us to help keep their hopes and dreams tangiable. I really just want people to know it hurt the medical staff when these babies get sick or in some cases sicker. I pray for good healthy and mental stability for every parent/baby I come in contact with. I have seen some great doctors and nurse over the years as well as some on the other end. Most parent can see exactly who is who in this field and don't have a problem calling it as they see it. The one mother had experienced a bad nurse, it is such a let down to the vast majority of us medical professionals.