On the vent and having Dsat's??

I also have a question for anyone who had a child on the vent, I'm still new to this and have no clue...is it normal for them to have Dsat's while they're on the vent???? Her vent settings are at 30% oxygen...the nurse who came over when the alarm was going off said it was because she kept moving around a lot...not sure why that would cause that...? I've never actually seen that happen to her before so it kind of freaked me out because it happened twice in the couple hours I was there.

7 replies. Join the discussion

yes it's normal and quite common.30 percent oxygen is ok as well,how long has she been on the vent for?

I'm at the one month mark now - my girl was on CPAP for one week near the beginning before she needed to go back on the vent due to infections in her lungs. So it's been 3 1/2 weeks total now now. Moving around can cause DSats and the oxygen should come back up on it's own.
I am so used to hearing alarms going off now that I have learned how to know when to be concerned. Try to remember that your nurses are very used to all of this and that if they aren't panicking, you most likely shouldn't either. They told me this in the beginning - but it took a while before I started to relax a bit.

Hi, I have a baby boy born at 24 weeks who will be 1 next month. He came home after many issues 5 weeks ago! Any how, what the nurse was saying was the oxygen probe (SATS probe) on the baby will not give a correct reading if the baby is moving as it give interference which could be why the machine alarms.

30% is great BTW, normal air is at 21% so she is doing great!