My son dosn't always respond to his name

He's a year now and he dosen't always respond to his name. he Was evaluated by E/I and she told me that he's not autistic and no cp either. sometimes he looks right at me like what now mom, but other times he will completely ignore me. Even if I'm yelling his name. he used to be VERY social and smile at everyone, now he really won't smile at new people. He laughs plays with toys and with my four year old.

11 replies. Join the discussion

Hi mommyinneed,
I've wondered about those things myself. I've been told that stranger anxiety is very common in one-year-olds. My daughter is only 7 mo adjusted and she cries when anyone but my husband or I hold her, and only smiles for a select few people.

As for answering to their names, did your EI evaluator say when babies are supposed to do that consistently? My DD doesn't but maybe she's too young. As a librarian, I've noticed that many children and toddlers will ignore you when you call them if they're having fun and don't want to stop what they're doing. I never noticed with babies though, hopefully someone else with an older baby will know.

We asked our pediatrician the same things when our girls were about 11 months or so. He said a few things that we thought was interesting. 1 - as long as the baby responds to you some of the time, that show they know who you are and who they are, but babies and toddlers will ignore you when their focus is elsewhere or they're just not in the mood (kinda like husbands ;) 2 - signs of autism and other social disorders are typically first noticed when a child doesn't look at his parents when a stranger enters a room. For a child to NOT smile and to have noticeable anxiety around strangers is actually a really good sign, that he understands the family structure and that this is an outsider. He looks to parents for approval, and then slowly gets to feel out the stranger.