laryngomalacia and feeding questions

my son was diagnosis with laryngomalacia and had surgery to correct the one side. we had a wonderful week post with him finally enjoying eating and not hearing him breathe from another room....well it's been two weeks and his breathing is getting bad and we are having problems feeding him again. he just doesn't want to eat!!! i know this is a side effect of the laryngomalacia and his ENT wants to do surgery on the other side in two weeks..but does anyone have any suggestions for helping him to eat. i was wondering about an NG tube until the surgery just to give him what he doesn't take by mouth. kind of like when he was in the NICU when he wouldn;t finish a feed. i'm a nurse and would have no problem managing it but i am just wondering could this set him back with his swallowing ability??? i'm looking for any ways that can make the next two weeks easier on him.

any suggestions would be wonderful...thanks he is 3months 6weeks adjusted.

4 replies. Join the discussion

Are you thickening his feeds? My baby has laryngomalacia and tracheomalacia and he was refusing to eat for a couple of months. It was awful--he would "honk" and scream and arch. We had a swallow study that showed he was aspirating so we started thickening his feeds. The thickening wasn't necessarily supposed to help the malacia but it totally did. He is eating way better and his breathing is so much better. In between feeds, he is still pretty loud but not nearly like it was.