Did your ROP baby need glasses? UPDATE

My son had successful ROP surgery when he was around 35 weeks gestation. His first follow up was normal but at his next appt only a month later he had some nearsightedness (-4.00) in both eyes. I was told we would wait because everything in his world is so close to him and could see fine close up. He is now 18 months old and his rx has been stable at a -4.00 for about a year now and recently his right eye has started crossing I just knew when we went to the eye Dr we would be getting glasses but he still wants to wait. I used to work as an optometrist assistant so I know more than I would like at times so knowing how my son sees with a -4.00 rx really bothers me. I tried to express my concern to his Dr but he kind of brushed me off and said we would recheck in April I feel like it bothers my son especially in the evening thats when his eyes just seem tired they cross a lot and he is constantly rubbing at them.
Has anyone else been told to wait if so why? For those moms of babies with glasses what were their rx when they got theres? I cant decide if a second opnion is in order or not.

Edited June 25, 2009 at 10:51 am

11 replies. Join the discussion