taxol vs taxotere

Im just curious as to why they just dont use taxotere. I was switched myself to taxotere after extreme allergic reactions to taxol. This seems pretty normal as well. And, I just found out that you dont lose all your hair when just on taxotere!!!!! (I was pretty mad when i found this out) Most other side effects are non exisent or easier to handle. Is Taxol cheaper or something? Why not just make that the ovarian drug of choice?

23 replies. Join the discussion

Valerie,
Here is the info I was given when I started my treatments. My doctor chose this over Taxol because it is less likely to cause nerve damage(peripheral neuropathy)(I AM AN ARTIST). He told me both drugs are effective but Taxotere is a little easier on the nerves. As you read this, look at my comments in all caps to see how I reacted to Taxotere.

Taxotere ® Generic Name: Docetaxel
http://www.chemocare.com/bio/taxotere.asp

How Taxotere Is Given:
Taxotere is given through a vein (intravenously, IV)
Premedication with a corticosteroid pill starting a day prior to Taxotere infusion for 3 days is given to reduce the severity of fluid retention and allergic reactions. I TOOK THIS

Taxotere Side Effects:
Taxotere side effects are often predictable in terms of their onset and duration TRUE
Taxotere side effects are almost always reversible and will go away after treatment is complete THERE ARE EXCEPTIONS

There is no relationship between the presence or severity of Taxotere side effects and the effectiveness of Taxotere. I WAS TOLD THIS IS TRUE
Taxotere side effects and their severity depend on how much Taxotere is given. TRUE. I WAS SCHEDULED FOR 6 TREATMENTS-THEN GIVEN 8. In other words, high doses of Taxotere may produce more severe side effects). HAPPENED TO ME
Taxotere Side Effects:
Low white blood cell count ( risk for infection) HAPPENED TO ME
Low red blood cell count (anemia) HAPPENED TO ME

Onset: 4-7 daysNadir: 5-9 daysRecovery: 21 daysTHIS CYCLE IS TRUE