Shaving your head BEFORE chemo...has anybody done this...your thoughts?

Well I see my oncolgist on Fri, and we are going start probally next week with chemo, heres my problem..I want to shave my head , because last time I really just went short ,and just hated my hair falling out, freinds are way supportive, my family however thinks thats nuts and I should just keep my hair as long as possible, there is no doubt I will lose with treatment.
This is really bothering me, I will probally go Saturday, my aunt says she will not speak to me if I do it, and the sad thing is shes a beautician by trade.
Just wanted some thoughts on it. Or if anybody here did this prior to chemo....

30 replies. Join the discussion

You know your hair will fall out after one or two treatments. And the falling out part as you know is difficult. It comes out in chunks, can stop up the shower drain, gets all over the towels, and your scalp can hurt. This was my experience at any rate. I did a buzz cut after mine started coming out in chunks and I was glad to be rid of it. My family was upset with me too. It was in-your-face I have cancer. No more denial. But everyone got over it and focused on the important part. Your aunt is probably not wanting to face up to your cancer. Good luck!!

I shaved mine 18 days after 1st treatment. That's the day it started to fall out so I just went ahead and did it. I didn't want loose hair falling around all the time. If you want to go ahead and do this then you should. It's your choice....the end result is the same..You just get to choose when it happens