HIPEC

Hello everyone. I received a phone call from my gyn-onc in regards to the stay in the hospital. He said I will be in for 1-2 weeks. Do any of you have any encouraging words in regards to experience with this. Is the stay so long due to observation? My surgeon said he will start off robotically and open me up from sternum to pelvis only if needed. I am getting nervous.

27 replies. Join the discussion

hey there. I have no experience with this, but lots of encouraging words. Hang in there, hang in there, hang in there! and bring a kindle so you have lots to read while there. I would guess the stay is long so they can make sure you are healing, etc., no infection, before sending you home. Also, word to the wise ( and learned this the hard way, no pun intended, after the fact after my stay in hospital for bilateral mastectomy) . . . If you are getting any morphine/opiate based pain killer after surgery, make sure they start giving you a stool softener too once you start eating anything solid. Not necessarily a laxitive, but something like Senacot S. Whatever you take, make sure it has stool softening component! Opiates can cause severe constipation, and no one told me this. The nurses all made sure I was urinating, and tracked it by the ounce on charts, but no one ever thought to find out about the other. Oddly enough, I was at a highly regarded cancer center, so you would think this is something they have seen before. I was MISERABLE for days, and didn't think I would ever go again until my mother got some Senacot S. Thank the good Lord for that stuff.

I asked my gyn/onc about this surgery and he told me he doesn't believe in it but did tell me Drs that do rent the unit to use during the surgery. I am too old and don't believe I would get over it so I will keep you in my daily prayers and you rock. I pray it works for you! You are so young and deserve a whole life again.