Help with Doxil Rash/Itch?

Hi All- This is my first time writing. I have learned a lot though in the short time since I found this site. I am on my 4th round of Doxil and skin discoloration and the rash came out on the last cycle and was on my legs, back, elbows and sides of my feet. Although it felt hot, it didn't start itching until after I had chemo about 10 days ago. So far I've been using ice, lukewarm water baths with Aveeno oatmeal stuff, Udderly Smooth cream. I tried taking 25mg. of benadryl but no luck. What's the best thing to wear on feet? The skin on sides of my heels is peeling. My fingers also seem to have a hard time turning, twisting off caps. Is that part of this whole hand/foot thing? Is cortizone cream a good idea or not? My Dr. doesn't seem very familiar with the Doxil rash. He said it's very uncommon?

7 replies. Join the discussion

No, skin issues are very common with Doxil. Just different people get different rashes. I had 2 different things. One was red spots on my thighs which did not itch. Then the red, hot, itchy, peeling skin on feet from the chafing of shoes.

Use Desitin to take the itchy heat away. Walk barefoot or flip flops if you can. Pressure and friction irritate the skin.

Hang in there and don't forget to ice wrists and ankles during infusion to prevent skin problems on hands and feet.

I had the whole rash that you're talking about. Benadry Cream works good for the itch. So far, I am having good results with the Doxil, The rash is a pain but it's worth it if Doxil keeps doing the trick.