Save 15% on Ostomysecrets with promo code SPRING

Emptying Appliance

As you all know, I'm new to this. My question for the day. How do you empty your appliance without having a mess everywhere? I'm finding when I unroll the end, I've got stool on outside of the tail. I wipe out the end, and it seems I just make a huge mess, and takes forever to get cleaned up and washed up. Any ideas?

18 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Holly,

To an extent it depends on the type of bag. I tried one where the ends were of an uneven length and had the problem you describe. I use Convatec Natura unroll the tail "Milk" the contents of the bag down and out the tail - milk that to make sure it's empty then use a piece of toilet paper to clean the end roll up and wash hands. I'm sure others have variations on this. Some stand, others sit. At home I sit - out I stand but put paper in first to stop the splashes.

*By Milk I mean squeeze between fingers to expel the contents.

That's what I've been doing. Seems like I just make a huge mess. As somewhat of a germaphob, I'm having real issues with stuff on my hands. Using gloves everytime is not financially an option or practical. I guess I just need more practice.

Hey,. First thing is to stand with the bag hanging freely and let the contents drop. Manpulate if you must.. If your'e using the clip closure try cuffing it. Roll it as far back as it is clean. Then let the contents out. Milking if necessary as above. Some have mentioned putting oil in the fresh bag to allow free movement. I carry a small water bottle (dysani) to rinse out the residue, that kinda cleans the tail, Then Tissue dry the inside of tail , et voila. Hope you find the way that best suits you soon. :)

oh, And the external tail wipe,.. Fold 2-3 layers of tissue in a square. Lay the wet tail Half way on it, Fold over and Squeeze pull. That wipes the outside and sort of squeegies out the excess fluid before you tissue dry the inside flap. :) ..