Calcium Absorption

I have been fairly faithful with my fosamax and calcium supplements for several years, since I was "cold-turkeyed" off estrogen due to breast cancer. I was dismayed to learn this year that my bone density had dropped to -2.9.
Then I read a suggestion for testing the absorption rate of your calcium supplement. Put your pill in vinegar for 30 minutes and see whether it will dissolve. I put a pill in vinegar, forgot about it, and saw three hours later that it had not dissolved.
I believe that my drop in bone density may be related to poorly absorbed calcium. I have switched to another form that is already liquid and "acidified". It is more expensive, but not nearly so expensive as bone loss!
So, friends, please check your calcium to be sure it is absorbing. I am no expert at this. Maybe another of you knows a better way to check this. If so please share it!

Deanna

23 replies. Join the discussion

Deanna,
The same thing happened to me regarding faithfully taking Fosamax and calcium (and exercising) only to have bone density continue to drop. My doctor did say that about 5% of the population does not react at all to Fosomax which may be the reason for the continued bone loss. Still, I suspect that the calcium absorption may be a bigger factor. I'm really confused standing in front of all the choices at the drug store and am not sure what the best supplement is or if the ones I am currently using are effective. I will definitely try the test you suggested.
Thanks,
Jill

Calcium citrate is more easily absorbed and can be taken with or without food. Constipation is not such a problem as with calcium carbonate.
It does cost more, but a much better "bang for the buck" in my opinion.
Lucy Buckley PT

Any ideas for those of us who can't take calcium? Both times I took it, I developed a kidney stone and don't want to try for a third!

I recommend CitraCal and take it in the evening since calcium is better absorbed during the night