Hysterectomy - Realistically, how long until I can go back to work?

Hi Everyone,

I have been reading posts here and am a bit worried. I have a Hysterectomy scheduled for this Thursday June 4th.(CC Stage 1B grade 3). I am taking a total of 12 days off of work. Is this long enough? I am an Office Manager for a very quiet office full of software developers. No heavy lifting and my job is very, very stress free. I figured I could just as easily sit here as I can at home :-) Any thoughts?

11 replies. Join the discussion

What type of hysterectomy are you having? I had an abdominal incision that is 7 inches long and I wouldn't have been able to return to work for at least 6 weeks.

Sorry about that, an abdominal hysterectomy. I asked for Laproscopic which my doctor does but he recommended the abdominal. Yikes, 6 weeks huh... I really don't know how I can swing that.

Both my mom and my aunt had abdominal ones and both had to be off work for 6 weeks. There is a risk of bleeding with the surgery Hun so you have to take it easy for awhile.

You might want to talk with your HR person at work. Find out, if you can use FMLA.. Family medical leave act. The doctors will usually tell you to take it pretty easy for 6 to 8 weeks. I am 4 months post op now and still am not completely back to normal. I tire very quickly. Best of luck to you. Please keep us informed...

i agree with all the other women who have posted. i would think you'll need lots more than 12 days. you'll need to plan time in the hospital, probably 3 nights and that's with no complications. and then at least 4 weeks home, ideally 6. what has your doctor recommended? follow his/her guidelines as best as you can. you really need time to heal and recover, and for the first two weeks, you'll be in lots of pain, and you can't drive if you're taking pain meds (and your thinking gets fuzzy with those meds).

Hi everyone, Thank you so much for the replies. You guys are a big help!!