Myoclonus

I developed myoclonus a year ago after I had surgery. Propofol was the drug used for general anesthesia. Myoclonus is a side effect of this drug but of course no one will identify that as the cause of the myoclonus. Anyone with similar experience? Thanks

6 replies. Join the discussion

Jill, I have myoclonus, but not caused by anesthesia. Actually I only have ideas what might be causing mine. I have celiac disease and myoclonus can be associated with it. However, one of my worst attacks was at a gluten free event when I wasn't even eating. Some smell in the air set it off. Still haven't figured out what it was and my spasms got so bad I had to leave. When I left, it subsided. Ataxia can set it off. Not sure where the ataxia comes from as it seems to be sensory in nature. As I understand it, and I am not an expert in this regard, we have 3 senses which help keep us balanced - vestibular, the body being aware of its position in space and vision. As long as 2 of the senses are working one stays balanced. When my eyes are closed, I cannot stay balanced. In a museum, grocery store or walking slowly, my body seems to loose it, balance goes off and myoclonus gets going. My doctor mentioned some blood tests I could have for nerves, but says they are expensive. I have not answered your question, but I think it is good to share experiences.

Thanks for sharing your story Carolina. The most frustrating thing for me is not knowing what caused the myoclonus. I'm probably going to have to accept that I may never know. I have similar balance issues and have "asteriskis" which is negative tone so Iook like I'm sagging and may fall. That seems to alternate with the positive tone/jerking movements. At its worst I wound up InThe ER having 20 spasms a minute for 5 hours. Yikes.