Well not strong enough to even start chemo

Well, seems like the pneumonia is getting worse. He's very short of breath. They didn't start chemo on him because his sats were down to 86 after resting for 10 minutes and on oxygen. His heart rate is in the 130's. He has a low grade fever. The pulmologist said to keep him on the same antibiotics and come back if he gets worse......he's been on those antibiotics for 7 days now. So we called the oncologist.....he's calling in another antibiotic and a nebulizer that doesn't affect the heart rate(forgot name). Going there tomorrow. Not sure how long the body can handle sats in the 80's and a heartrate of 130's. And I'm a nurse. I'll try to post tomorrow. Pray that it's just a pneumonia that we can treat. someone told me that it's very difficult to treat an obstructive pneumonia(the cancer is obstructing it). Prayers for our family.
Lisa O

16 replies. Join the discussion

Dear Lisa,

This is so hard for everyone, I offer positive vibes and healing thoughts.

Melody

Lighting a candle for you tonight. You are in my prayers

Blessings
Barb

Prayers for you, Mel and your family Lisa.
God bless,
Darlene.

I am hoping that he is on continuous oxygen?? If not he needs to be. It will help the heartrate too. Hang in there. Glad that you got another antibiotic and nebs....seven days is a pretty clear cut failure of a drug I he is still that sick! Keep advocating for him!

Prayers for him and your family. Is he not in the hospital with that pneumonia?
Sandi

Still praying for a turnaround!
God bless,
liz

Dont worry, God has his hand on him....he shall over come this....God bless us all.