Tumor Size Question

My mother-in-law has several tumors in her lungs and chest that were first detected on her CT scan 16 months ago. One is now 9 cm (which is about 3-1/2 inches). Is that considered to be large?

8 replies. Join the discussion

They rate the size in increments, and the "T" is part of the TNM staging system. T1a is a tumor 2 cm or less that is not invading the visceral pleura. T1b is a tumor between 2-3 cm. T2a is a tumor between 3-5 cm, T2b is a tumor 5-7 cm. Tumors >7 cm are T3.

So your mother's is in the largest size rating. I have read many posts of peoplw with larger tumors.

Courage

Chum

When i was diagnosed in august of squamous carcinoma = nsclc my mass was 5.4. I was given a staging of 3a just because of the size of the mass. Cancer was not found any where else.So, i'm no doctor but seems big to me. Good news is that chemo shrunk mine to 1.9 x1.0...I am now scheduled for surgery jan. 13th. For me the mass had infiltrated the pulmonary veins and surgeon couldn't operate due to the size of the mass. That's why i say yes your mother in law's is big.Jane

Yes, it's big. My dad's tumor was also 9 cm and his doctors all told him it was big. Big doesn't mean not curable, though. My dad just got NED, so try not to let the size discourage you. As Chum said, there are a lot of people on here with bigger tumors who are successfully treating their cancers.

Best wishes to you,

Brittiany

Beach, I've read all three of your posts and you don't mention if your MIL is being treated or has been treated. Is she being seen by any doctors? These are all questions that should be answered by her doctor. Let us know what treatment she has had, if any.
Take care, Jc