tarceva

Hi out there. I am so new to all this. I have a question for all of you. Has anyone not been able to tolerate tarceva at all? My husband is having a very difficult time with it. It is supposed to give you more quality time than conventional chemo but is certainly not doing that for him. I would love to hear some of your experiences. Thanks!

21 replies. Join the discussion

My Mom had tried Tarceva three different times, but her body could not tolerate it. She had terrible bone pain.She could barely move. So she had to turn to conventional chemo treatment. The good news is that she is doing wonderfully! Good luck to you and your husband!

I am not a doctor and situations matter, but in some of these, the Tarceva is just not working.

I was on tarceva as part of a medical trial with pertuzimab, then tarceva by itself. Dose was dropped progressively from 150mg to 50, because of toxicity of side effects, but I still got many months of benefits.

Checkout whether your mum can have a lower dose.

Gail

Sorry, should have said your husband, not mum!

Gail

My husband has been on Tarceva since Jan. He had been on the 150 mg dose. Last week the onc changed the dose to 75 mg one day and 150 mg the next because of the latest side effects. It did shrink the tumor by 2 cm after 1 1/2 months but the onc thinks now that it is losing its effectiveness. He gets another CT scan next month. My husband's heart is too weak for another line of chemo so we were thankful that Tarceva was an option.

Becky

PS You didn't mention what side effects he was having. Have you seen Marie's posts? You can Google "Tarceva Side Effect Busters #1 and #2. There are some helpful info in those.

Becky

Dear Friends,

To my small knowledge, Only 12% of the population
are eligible for taking Tarceva and gain its benefits.

Moshe

Is tarceva given when you have a particular mutation? How is it admininistered how often?

luckless,