stage 4 lung cancer

My husband, Vic, was just diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer. There is a 2 inch mass on the top of his right lung and two other spots in the middle of his right lung and on the right lower lobe.. He also has cancer in his pretracheal lymph node. He has seen Dr. Tucker at Southwest Regional Cancer Center in Austin, Tx. He recommended chemo and no radiation or surgery. Also, a trial was mentioned that requires a prerequisite of only one prior chemo therapy. It involves tarceva and avastin, both alone and in combination. Vic has a referral tomorrow to MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston to see Dr. Fossella for a second opinion. We would like to hear from anyone who has stage 4 NSCLC and their treatments. Thank you from our family to yours.

9 replies. Join the discussion

Echee,

I have no direct experience with stage 4 - I am Stage 1a, but Dave Grant, one of the founders of this site, is almost (September 11) a five-year survivor. Check out his blog and read some of his comments.

So far it seems you are doing everything right - getting a second opinion from one of the two best comprehensive cancer centers in the U.S. is a great step. Once you are in the system, you will be able to access all the clinical trials that Dave talks about.

Stage 4 used to be a diagnosis that left no hope, but that is not the case today. The new treatments and procedures are changing everything... and more are in the pipeline. You have to be assertive and go for the newer drugs (sometimes in trials). I've even heard more and more cases of where they will operate on stage 4. I'd certainly check out if they could just deal with that one node in your husband whether taking out the right lung wouldn't be possible. Certainly something to ask the people at M.D. Anderson.

Courage

Chum