DOCTOR'S SAY THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO!!!!!

This is my first time posting my own discussion. I am in need of desperate help. On 2/4/10 my father in law (but i consider him my dad) was taken to the emergency then admitted to the hospital for possible pnominia after sooo many test were done, we were told he had Stage iv ext. SCLC with mets to the liver and adrenal gland.
He was started on the chemo combination of carbo/epot. He had three rounds while going into the hospital in between each round. All of his cells, well everything kept dropping. He ended up on antibotics for the last 3 weeks. Had to get blood and platelet transfussions.
Well yesterday I took him for his 4th round of chemo and the doctor told me that there is nothing else that can be done for him. To me this is crazy!!!
In between the chemo the cancer continues to grow and that it is more agressive than they originally thought. That his liver is failing because of all of the cancer on it. They were able to shrink the main tumor in the lungs from the radiation. Which he had 20 rounds of that. But the liver they can't do anything for.
The Dr. then told me to take him home and let him do what ever and have whatever he wants. He only has a few weeks, not months. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I think it's insane just to sit here and wait for the person you love to die.
I have done sooooo much research since this nightmare began. My husband went and purshased burial plots. He can't believe this either. He is in a state of shock. No one wants to belive this. I have already got him another appointment for a different Dr. It's Wednesday, but I noticed tonight his urine is very dark. Almost like the color of pepsi. I know it means it's the liver. We don't know what to do??? What if he doesnt make it until then or gets too sick for them to help?