Avastin - caused too much protein in kidneys

I have stage iv nsclc; I went through 6 treatments of Taxol, Carbo, and Avastin ending March 2008. In June 2008 I started Avastin as a maintenance drug. I now have developed too much protein in my kidneys and my oncologist just took me off Avastin to help my body get back to normal.

Up to now I had been doing very well. I also am having trouble emptying my bladder since the Avastin problem and developed an UTI.

Has anyone experienced these same problems?
Janet

13 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Janet,
I'm an Oncology Nurse and we monitor the amount of protein in our patient's urine as that is an indication of how the kidney's are functioning. If the amount of protein is high, the doctor stops treatment with avastin until the kidneys are working better and less protein is found in your urine. Your doctor will continue to monitor your urine for less protein.

Avastin can lower your white blood cell count. This can increase your chance of getting an infection, hence the UTI which is related to your trouble emptying your bladder.

Does that make sense?

Be well,
MC

Ok, so just holding back the Avastin is the only thing that can reduce the overabundance of protein?

Dear MC,
Thank you for the infomation. It has been at least a month since my last blood test. I will have to double check on report and hopefully, will have another one done soon. I will be sure to monitor it.
Thanks again,
Janet

Easterbaby,
I don't know; but it seems to be standard procedure to stop the Avastin and hopefully the count will come down low enough to start it again. I will be checked again in about 4 weeks.

Janet