My husband had a virtually zero sperm count in his semen analysis

I am brand new to all of this! New to infertility (which even typing that word makes me want to vomit) new to discussion boards, and new to sharing my fear and feelings.

My husband and I decided to stop using any precautions in November in order to "not try to not have a baby". We were both so excited at the thought of just having sex when we wanted all month long and eventually seeing the "pregnant" status on the pee stick!

By the time February rolled around I decided to see my gyno. Not that it had been long at all, but I never had "regular" cycles so I thought I might as well get checked out. I felt so dumb becuase we're so young, 26 and 27, and I assumed we'd be perfectly healthy and normal and the gyno would laugh at my unsure feelings!

Well come to find out, I don't ovulate at all, but I was assured it's ok. I'll just have to take clomid and that should be that. Well Mike had to have the semen analysis first and the results brought us to our knees.

His semen had virtually no sperm at all, the ones that were detected were not viable. We found this all out yesterday and can't sleep, can't function, and are just in fear.

We are making the urologist appointment today as soon as my gyno is in the office, but in the mean time I needed to talk to someone. Anyone who has been through this or is in the process. I have a deep need to hear success stories right now because this is so unknown to me. We have no clue what to expect, or what to think and we are both in a HUGE fog!

Worst of all today is the 3rd birthday of my baby cousin who I watched being born. Unfortunately he passed away of SIDS at 5 months and 10 days, so our news on top of this day is burying me.....just overwhelming me, and I am searching for someone to tell me they've been here and they made it out.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and I hope to hear from anyone who has been here.

39 replies. Join the discussion