Is hoola hooping safe/good?

My daughter with HEDS loves to hoola hoop. I've been encouraging this because we are trying to build her core strength. But I recently read an article that a major benefit of hoola hooping is increase flexibility in your spine, which sounds like the last thing we would want. Has anyone ever heard anything about hoola hooping and EDS?

3 replies. Join the discussion

I'm sure it is fine! I'm not a doctor, but I don't think flexibility of the spine is a bad thing, just too much flexibility. Having those core/back muscles will prevent so many other problems. If it doesn't hurt, go for it!

I do hula hoop dancing when I can (HEDS/POTS) and had a period of several months where I was hooping almost every day, so I hope my experience can be useful for you!

I found it to be the only exercise that has never injured me. I also have an undiagnosed chronic lower back problem which is sometimes helped by the "massage" of the hoop, and when I've been able to hula hoop dance regularly I've found my muscle tone much improved with far fewer symptoms.

The only thing I've had to be careful of is "throwing" the hoop while doing tricks, since my shoulders like to pop out and that's a motion that can go beyond the circle of the hoop and therefore into hyperextension, but it sounds like your kiddo isn't doing the tricks, just the basic hooping, so that shouldn't be a problem.

I had one doctor express slight concern about my hips with hula hooping (as hip instability is my other major problem), but in my personal experience my hips have never complained about hooping. My core definitely benefited, and during the time when my hooping overlapped with my shoulder PT, my posture improved dramatically.