Brain Injury Recovery / MCS / PVS / Anoxic

My name is Wendy and I am the mother of a 13yr old boy who sustained a Severe Anoxic Brain Injury when playing in his friend's backyard in May 2008.

There is so little information available about anoxic brain injury recovery and I feel it is mostly due to the fact that these patients are scattered all over the country and that there is no "central place" to turn to JUST for ABI treatment and recovery information. I have managed to gather together a small amount of what I feel is promising information. I am hoping to find a way to reach all families who have a loved one who has sustained a "true" ABI (not TBI which is dramatically different) resulting from being without oxygen for more than 4 minutes regardless of whether or not they have showed any recovery at 60 days post injury. I am an RN student graduating May 2009 and I believe there is hope and potential for recovery for everyone ... we just all need to share our successes and failures at recovery and join forces together (as there is power in numbers) to bring our loved ones to the medical community collectively so they can't treat us like we are hopeless and create a "central place" for ABI information. Please contact me so we can support each other and share information. I am hoping to start a website "ABIrecovery" I urge everyone to post here on INSPIRE and post contact information too. Please don't hesitate, we need each other! I hope to hear from EVERYONE . . . God bless.
I can also be reached by email wmd723@aol.com or on skype (please email me for my skype id).

Edited April 1, 2009 at 5:58 pm

40 replies. Join the discussion

Hi Wendy,