Area of red spots discovered in cystoscopy

I have had pain in my bladder for a while. My urine analysis (3 of them) have been off and now we did a cystoscopy and there was no tumor but a very clear area at the bottom of the bladder that was covered in red spots. I am scheduled to have another cystoscopy on Monday (this time full anesthesia) to get a biopsy. No tumor just that area of red spots which are very discernable. Can this be cancer?

36 replies. Join the discussion

First of all, welcome to BCAN! I'm sorry you have a reason for being here.

I am no doctor, but could this be carcinoma in situ? (Commonly known as CIS.) From what little I know about CIS, it can have that type of appearance.
You might want to do some research on your own, but there are surely other possibilities for this irritation besides cancer. Please let us know what you find out. We are here to help and support you!

Thats what I am afraid of. I should mention that I smoke which is a big risk factor plus I have been taking medication for epilepsy for 38 years. The one I took for most of my life also has a high cancer risk. I found out because I had a kidney stone and they started looking into it. The urine analysis wasn't right. My calcium levels are too high. My citric acids couldn't be raised so they started looking further. I have been telling them that my bladder feels sore for the past couple of months too so they did the cystoscopy. Well I guess I have to wait till Monday when they can have a better look. I know something is really wrong as I am loosing alot of weight. To the tune of 8 lbs in 17 days. I guess nothing can be said until I get the results from the biopsy right? Is CIS always the invasive kind or can it be one of the other two?

Also not a urologist, but I think redness of the bladder mucosa can have a number of causes, including CIS. Your biopsies will be critical in helping to sort out the cause of your red spots. I hope they turn out to be something else.

jj