What are the odds that I will inherit ALS from my father?

My father is 47 and has ALS. I was really sad when the doctor told me this. And I did some research online and found that ALS might be hereditary. Will I get/inherit this disease? Is the chance high? My father is the only person in my family history who has this disease. and I DON'T KNOW IF HE HAS FAMILIAL ALS OR NOT.

Thanks.

12 replies. Join the discussion

It's really good to ask your own doctor, as I am not a medical professional, but when my sister got it, I was worried about the same thing you are. But my doctor told me that if I was at risk for getting familial ALS, then there would be a long line of other relatives older than I who had died from it. Since there weren't any, other than my sister, I stopped worrying. I also asked her (my doc) if I should have genetic testing, but she said that that might work out badly for me if they found something else, something different, that prevented me from getting medical insurance in the future. So I didn't get genetic testing, and I also stopped worrying about getting ALS. I hope you will be able to find some peace with your dad's situation. My sister passed last summer and I'm still learning about myself, others, the world, and God from walking through that experience with her.
Sincerely,
Barb H.

Absolutely agree with RochesterBob on chatting with your doctor. He/she will ask you about your family history and how much you know about both sides of your family (mother/father). He/She will ask if you have any cousins or siblings with the disease - if so, how many and at what age was the onset of the disease.